top of page

How I started to make money working from home and 3 tips for you to do so too.

Just over a year ago I was desperately looking for a way to make money working from home. I was homeschooling and was unsatisfied with my part time job which was taking me away from my husband on the only days he was home.  We hardly saw each other anymore and I hated that. Also, my job required me to stand up for hours...this caused my back issues to worsen.


I remember spending hours on Pinterest reading blog posts about working from home. I hated selling stuff and I didn't consider myself to have any special talents worth selling. One day I read about Virtual Assistants and thought it sounded like something I could do but I have no idea how to set up my own business. Literally, I'm a disaster with accounting stuff, the thought of doing taxes makes me want to cry (that hasn't changed at all) and I never considered myself business minded. But I DREAM BIG!!! The thought of being a VA kept bugging me. "What if I did? What if I could actually do this...homeschool, run a business and trying to run a household (which was always my weak point).

One morning I spoke to my husband and I told him I'm going to go for it. He knows I have some crazy ideas regularly and he just said sure. Probably in his head he thought it would pass quick...but it didn't.

A year later, I have a full running business, with another side gig going on too.

I wanted to share with you some tips on becoming a mompreneur. Sure, I am not an expert, but I've been there and done that so if you are thinking about working from home and feeling overwhelmed I want to encourage you. I am not a coach...I'm not gonna ask you to invest in my service to help you to get started but I would still love to chat with you if you need someone to talk to

Here are first 3 tips for you: Turn Passion Into Money: Starting a business for purely financial motives makes it difficult to sustain your passion and energy. FInd a way to blend a smart business idea with something you have a great passion for to reduce the stress of work. For me it was social media and even though I run so many accounts and spend hours working on my client's social media, I still enjoy it and find satisfaction when I see their accounts thriving.

Your business growth is directly related to your personal growth. If you want your business to grow, you have to grow and invest in yourself. I can really look back and see how much I've grown. I have invested lots of time in reading books, finding motivation in other people's content, working with a coach, training...and I'm not saying just stuff related to my business but in my life. I am all day with my kids but now I make sure that at least once a month I leave the house alone for a few hours and that really helps me to recharge. 

Work hard and don't give up when it gets tough. Consistency is key.  Running your own business is tough. It takes lots of energy and stamina but at the end of the day it is so rewarding. I love the fact that my kids get to see me do what I love. I let them to find their passion and pursuit it so it's an amazing feeling to know that you are being the perfect example for them.

​Share on Pinterest:



16 views0 comments
bottom of page